Firebird Nation banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fellow owners,

First time I'm getting some work done on my new 1967 firebird. I'm new to the classic car club and wanted to see what you all though about this quote.

Attached the quote to my post.

Thanks.

Scott

Attachments

·
Administrator
3,302 Posts
I'd say, do the work yourself and save 3 G's. Nothing there that an average person could not do. I believe your mechanic is saving to send his kids to Harvard or Yale.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm pretty good with my hands, but I don't know the first thing about working on car engines.

In all seriousness though, just looking to find out if this is fair or not. They told me those are "book" rates, but I assume it will end up less when all the work is done at once.

·
']['exXxas']['itan
759 Posts
WTF! They charge more labor to rebuild a carb than to replace an oil pan gasket? I call BS. Also, they charged full labor to do the water pump, and fuel pump...makes no sense since they had the whole front of the motor apart to do the timing chain cover gasket! RIP OFF!

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
Wow look at the labour charge...my friends who helped me with my car would charge my about 1K plus parts do do all that work...$25hr approx

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Almost $300 labor for a wheel cylinder? Its hard to read on my tablet but wow, I think you could buy a Carb for his rebuild price

·
Premium Member
328 Posts
Guys, Scott just said he isn't mechanically inclined. Of course he could save the money by doing it himself, I'm sure he knows that.