Firebird Nation banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 79 that started life with a 301, then had a 400 installed. I just finished my first ever attempt at a build - a 455 bored 60 over, summit 2802 cam, Torker 2 intake, Holley Street Avenger 770 (maybe too small?),6X-4 heads, summit long tube headers with purple hornies bolted straight to the end of the headers.

Thanks to books by Jim Hand and Rocky Rotella, a few calls to Butler performance and some youtube videos, once I got it dropped in it actually started right up.

My neighbors want me to rethink the exhaust.

Keep in mind I am a rookie, so be gentle if the question is a dumb one.

I am curious as to what my compression ratio might be. According to what I have read, it appears that standard 6X-4 heads bolted to a 455 will produce over 9:1 compression. These appear to have been cut down, because I had to get the intake cut down the equivalent of the intake manifold gaskets to bolt it on. My understanding is that this combined with the over bore will increase the compression ratio.

Any input/thoughts/advice appreciated.

·
Registered
576 Posts