Firebird Nation banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1969 Firebird 350 AT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon all! I have a '69 350 car that has an Offenhauser intake with a Holley 4v on it, and I am looking at swapping to a Q-jet, but was not sure if I should look for an original Pontiac factory manifold, or if there was a good aftermarket one that would be a better choice. I am new to Q-jets as everything I have owned to this point has had a 302 or 351W engine in it, and we typically ran Edelbrock stuff on those, but everyone seems to agree the Q-jet is a great carb for cruising and all around performance on a cruiser type ride.

Any input is helpful and appreciated!

·
Registered
41 Posts
FWIW....it is hard to beat the stock Pontiac dual plane manifold for what you are doing. Search the net for comments from alot of happy users. I don't remember the exact year but Rocky Rotella published a great piece on the these a while back. I'd also keep the Q-Jet for what you are doing as well.

·
Registered
1969 Firebird 350 AT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I will be looking to source both a manifold and a Q-jet here in the near future. The car has had a TH400 put in in place of the 4spd it came with and the kick down was never installed, so its just been one thing after another. My plan was a Tremec manual swap and re-install a Q-jet and manifold for a great highway cruising car, especially with the 3.36 rear end

·
Registered
41 Posts
You will get great help here for sure......but since you are new to Quadrajet carbs.....it would be beneficial to also check out Cliffs High Performance Forum. It's a site devoted to Quadrajets. You will get loads of help there too in setting up your carb the right way and getting off on the right foot.

·
Premium Member
84 T/A 301T T5, 3.73s
1,207 Posts