Firebird Nation banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a power steering leak that I have been burying my head in the sand about for a couple of months now. I figured it was a Rack and Pinion leak since I cold not see anything leaking out of the hoses, and I figured that I could resolve when I drop the engine out for a larger project planned... until I made a right turn backing out and smoked out my engine compartment. Seems that the high pressure hose decided to start spraying the exhaust, and scare the hell out of everyone sharing the road with me.

Sooooo, after I sacrificed a sock from my gym bag and a few zip ties, I was able make the hour drive home. Ordered a Replacement hose from RockAuto for $20, and will be waiting its arrival to do the repair. It doesn't appear that this is going to be a very difficult fix, everything seems pretty accessible (key word being SEEMS, the Spark Plugs SEEMED to be an easy job too, until after fighting for hours I figured out a army of swivel sockets was needed).

Judging by the look of things I should probably use a flare nut wrench to get these lines off. Due to a recent break-in, my wrench set was stolen. I don't really feel like ponying up the cash for a new set, and there many pawn shops I can buy them individually...

Anybody know what size wrench or wrenches I will need to do the removal and install of the Power Steering Pressure Hose?

·
Registered
475 Posts
I want to say the high pressure line is a 15mm hex. It's been a couple years since i replaced mine.

·
Ramblin' Wreck
5,083 Posts
I recently replaced my 5.7L engine pump hose, but I didn't buy any special/flare wrenches. My job was very different than a 3.8L (harder, had to remove the pump). Don't remember the wrench sizes, but they were common.

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·