Firebird Nation banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Pontiac Firebird 3.8L V6
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I just recently acquired a 1996 3.8L Firebird. I've been browsing this forum for various small things that needed to be worked on, namely the coolant system and new differential fluid. I'm not a super mechanic by any means but I've flushed, diagnosed, and fixed the coolant leak/issue with the vehicle. Now there are no leaks, all new fluids, runs great.

My only real question is, what should I do now?

The previous owner already jacked up the audio system so I was planning on rewiring all of that properly. And adding new speakers. (After reading the forum this seems to be a common problem.) But besides that, there aren't any issues. I've been working on this slowly as I know there is a lot that comes with doing this. I do not believe I have a monsoon system, and I honestly have no idea what the previous owner did, all I know is that whatever they did, they did a bad job of it. I'm wondering how the door speaker/tweeter combo works? Can I throw any old speaker/tweeter in there? I'd assume not? If you know about this please let me know.

I was wondering of anything I should be looking out for that often goes bad with these? I'm big into preventative maintenance so I want to make this thing as reliable as possible. It is a DD, however, I have my own work truck so realistically it only gets driven on the weekends, or ~1 to 2 hours during the odd weekday I get off work early.

Sorry, I know this post is kind of vague and rambly but I'm just trying to figure out what people think about my situation on here before I start doing anything crazy.

Thanks!

·
Administrator
15,796 Posts
Welcome to Firebird Nation ! ! !

Do you have a copy of the 1996 factory service manual? If not, free download here:

That should help with the audio system. Look at your Service Parts Identification label in the glove box to ident the RPO code for the audio system.