Firebird Nation banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Proud new owner of a 79 Firebird, it's a project vehicle. Equipped with the 4.9L 301. Finally got around to working on it. Got fresh gas, changed oil, new plugs...basically everything to get her started up.

Unfortunately, it will fire up and stay running as long as I have starting fluid blasting into it. It sounds like a fuel issue, but I have checked the lines and fuel filter and it definitely looks like gas is getting into the carb.

Can you guys lead me To the next trouble shooting step to get this baby running? I was thinking checking fuel pressure and maybe rebuilding the carb. Suggestions? If I am checking the fuel pressure, how do I do it and what should the pressure be at?

Attached is the picture of it, need to replace the warped flywheel and install the transmission back as well.

This is my first project and I'm beyond excited, what do you guys think about the 301 engines?

Anyways, thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4,254 Posts
Welcome to FBN ! :welcome500:

"... what do you guys think about the 301 engines?..."

Well, I don't wanna burst your bubble--BUT, the 301 is a very low performance engine. They have a weak block and a really weak crank. And the heads were not made for performance. The 301 Turbo engines had a few stronger parts and can make a fair amount of power.

But, the good news is that any '70-up Pontiac 350, 400, or 455 will bolt right in, with the 301 mounts.

I think most all Pontiac guys will recommend that you swap the 301 for a larger Pontiac engine. :yes

The only reason I can think of to keep the 301 is either for gas mileage, or lack of funds to replace it.

So, the 1st question most will ask is: What is your budget, for the engine ? That will determine the best way to proceed.

Good luck with your project ! :smile22:

·
Registered
4,254 Posts