Firebird Nation banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hey guys, I bought a shell of a 1985 Trans Am, looking to restore it as a fun project I'm relatively new to cars, and could really use some advice. The car had no engine or transmission when I got it, and the rear end had been totally destroyed in an accident. I've already swapped the rear with a 10 bolt posi that I bought from a local guy. He also had an old chevy 350 short block sitting around, and he gave me that.

That's all I have right now, and I'm looking to add everything to it and use it in the car (I'm not going for a race car, just something to drive). I'm thinking a 4 speed munchie because they're cheap and robust so I hear.

Also, what attaches to the motor? I'm thinking water pump, harmonic balancer, oil pump, power steering pump, and alternator, am I missing anything?

My uncle told me that the conversion from a drum brake rear end to a disc brake posi required changing the master cylinder, but I don't know much about that, is he right?

I realize this post is all over the place, so thanks in advance for the help!

Shayne

·
Administrator
3,413 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Disc brake rear takes different master cylinder than drum brake rear.

You'd be better off in the money department buying a complete 350 with complete manual transmission for your car. And with gas prices going up I'd suggest a t-56 6 speed for your car.

And if going with a manual, a 3.42 or 3.73 ratio rear end for your car.

·
Administrator
15,115 Posts