Firebird Nation banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Please be patient with me, I am not a transmission expert.

I have a 1995 Pontiac firebird formula, LT1, 4l60e trans. 128k on car.

When driving, first and second gears work great. seems to never really shift into third, but sometimes it seems like it does, but then struggles getting into fourth. It seems to slip occasionally in 3rd gear and sometimes even second, but even then, the car still pulls so it isn't really like a slip?

When cruising at higher speeds (e.g. 50 mph), even when I slightly press gas, the rpm's raise quickly and car pulls like it is in third (or second, I don't know). When I let go of the gas, the rpm's drop, and the car seems like it is in fourth until I hit the gas, then the rpm's raise and car pulls like it is in third again. At higher rpm's, a whining sound sort of happens, but my vacuum check valve is leaking, so it may just be that.

Honestly, it is a weird issue and it confuses me, and I am sure a paragraph about the issue will not enable anyone to help me. My real question is what are some easy things to try before I resort to rebuild. The transmission fluid is not burnt, does not have chunks of gear in it. Trans fluid and filter were just replaced 300 miles ago. Also, no smells or sounds. Fluid level is good too. (at least I think so). No check engine light is on.

So far, I replaced the TPS hoping for a quick-fix and this did not resolve the issue. I have ordered 2 shift solenoids to replace the 1-2 and 3-4 solenoids. Is that a reasonable attempt to fix my issue? Figured it was worth a shot since they were only 12 dollars a piece. While I am under the car doing the solenoids, I will look for any bad connections or anything like that.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions before resorting to a rebuild. Thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts