Firebird Nation banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1971 Firebird with a 350 V8 and automatic transmission. I purchased it used as my 1st car back in 1976.

I have about 80,000 original miles on it and the only issue that I ever seem to have is getting it to start and it appears to be a distributor related issue.

I would like to convert to new electronic ignition and replace the distributor and any related components. I would prefer to purchase a new distributor versus converting a used GM distributor.

What is the best source and manufacturer of the system that I will need to do this?

Is this a relatively simple process to convert the ignition?

I have some mechanical skills but I am not an expert and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Plant

Attachments

·
Registered
4,254 Posts
Welcome to FBN ! :welcome500:

Yeah, a self contained HEI is the most popular choice. And the DUI brand has the reputation of being one of the very best units. It's also the highest priced, at about $300.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/dui-51720bl/overview/year/1973/make/pontiac/model/firebird

The only thing that's needed to hook one up is a 12 volt power source. You can't use your stock ignition wire, because it has an inline resistor, which reduces the voltage for the points type ignition. You must use a wire which does not have a resistor.

A fairly large wire is recommended to supply the 12 volts to the HEI. I think it's either a #12 or #10. I'll try to look that up, when I can. If anybody knows for sure, please post.

·
Registered
576 Posts
The MSD ready run. Is a stand alone distributor I have this and have been very happy. It also has a rev limiter built in.

·
Registered
4,254 Posts
The MSD ready run. Is a stand alone distributor I have this and have been very happy. It also has a rev limiter built in.