94 Firebird trans am V8 LT1 upgrades... need suggestions - Performance Modifications - Firebird Nation

FirebirdNation.com is the premier Pontiac Firebird forum on the internet. Supporting Members do not see the above ads.
Photo
- - - - -

94 Firebird trans am V8 LT1 upgrades... need suggestions

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Flyman

Flyman

Firebird Newbie

• Pip
  • 19 posts
  • First Name:Edgar
  • City:Chicago
  • State or Province:IL
  • Interests:Care and basketball
  • Year: 1994
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Firebird
  • Engine: 5.7L
  • Transmission: Automatic

Posted A week ago

Hello Im new to this, I just bought a stock 94 bird in very good condition for its age with 63k miles. Car was hardly driven. Drove it about 20 miles from the dealer and noticed how rough it handles compared to my 17 Infiniti lol so many squeaks. Ok so what do you guys suggest I do to make the car handle better and smooth. It will be a weekend car and I drive my cars hard when I see an open road but wont be racing. Want it a little bit more powerful, I suck at car fixing but Im willing to spend some money. What should I do first ? Ive heard shocks and wheels/tires. I dont want to lower the car as I live in Chicago. Thanks again

#2 ZumpTA

ZumpTA

Firebird Master Tech.

• Administrator
  • 2041 posts
  • First Name:Tony
  • City:Holiday
  • State or Province:FL
  • Year: 1993
  • Model: Trans Am
  • Engine: LT1
  • Transmission: 6-Spd

Posted A week ago

There shouldn't be any squeaks or rattles.  Check/replace all the rubber grommets and bushings.  Although the car is low mileage, the rubbers are still 26 years old.  Probably the best value per dollar to get a little more power out of the engine is a tune on a chassis dyno.  Always buy quality high-performance tires, and don't try to save money here.  Many like the BFG g-Force Sport Comp 2.

"There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX.
We don't believe this to be a coincidence."