1983 FireBird Upgrade - Drivetrain - Firebird Nation

FirebirdNation.com is the premier Pontiac Firebird forum on the internet. Supporting Members do not see the above ads.
Photo
- - - - -

1983 FireBird Upgrade

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Chevyboy33

Chevyboy33

Firebird Newbie

• Pip
  • 6 posts
  • First Name:Prentiss
  • City:Houston
  • State or Province:TX
  • Year: 1983
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Firebird
  • Engine: 383
  • Transmission: 700r4

Posted 3 weeks ago

Hello, im a noob to this, looking for direction on this build i have. I currently have a 1983 Firebird with a V6. In the process of removing engine and putting in 383 stroker, trying to see what tranny, rear end, gears yall running with a setup similar. I do know i want to go with a 700r4 87-94 model (earlier years have to many issues my personal opinion) with no lock up. 

You think this is a good combo? Any advice is much appreciated!

Thanks

#2 Injuneer

Injuneer

Just Trying to Help

• Administrator
  • 13693 posts
  • First Name:Fred
  • City:Central NJ
  • State or Province:NJ
  • Interests:Licensed Professional Engineer (Mechanical)
  • Year: 1994
  • Model: Firebird Formula
  • Engine: 381ci LT1 stroker
  • Transmission: TH400 + GV O/D

Posted 3 weeks ago

Welcome to Firebird Nation !

The 700R4 is a good choice, but if you're planning on a healthy 383 build, the trans is going to need to be beefed up.  In 1993, they changed the 700R4 designation to 4L60, and changed some internals.  1994 and newer Firebirds used the 4L60E, which is an electronically shifted trans, requiring a factory PCM or a standalone controller.  Just curious....  why no locking converter?

Among 4th Gen owners, the favorite rear axle ratio is 3.73 behind the 700R4/4L60.  Again, if you are looking at decent torque out of the 383, and planning on running sticky tires, the stock 7.5” 10-bolt rear axle assembly can be a weak link.  Does your V6 have a limited slip rear?

1994 FIREBIRD FORMULA