Flashing The PCM - ECM/PCM - Firebird Nation

Jump to content


FirebirdNation.com is the premier Pontiac Firebird forum on the internet. Supporting Members do not see the above ads.
Photo
- - - - -

Flashing The PCM


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1

    Firebird Mechanic

  • Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 808 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 07:47 AM

Hey-
I read/heard... I dont really have any idea how I know this, but I heard from disconnecting the negative battery cable you reset your PCM or something like that....

If this is true, in theory, every time my battery dies my PCM gets reset, unless there is a separate battery in the PCM which uses the 12v ground from the battery... I dont know... So thats my question, every time my battery dies, is my PCM reset?

(Its dead now, I hate my fan toggle switch... I always forget about it lol)

:oops:

Thanks
jens

#2 mytmous

mytmous

    Firebird Tune up Technician

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Matt
  • City:Madison
  • State or Province:AL
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:Drag Racing, Working on Cars, My Wife and Kids
  • Year: 2001
  • Make: Caddy
  • Model: Catera
  • Engine: 3.0L
  • Transmission: auto

Posted 11 October 2005 - 08:51 AM

the true way is to pull the PCM fuse, then disconnect the battery for 15 mins.


that will reset it.


on the fan switch, you can hook up a relay that goes off a keyed 12V source that way it only gets power when you have the key on.
Matt aka Mighty Mouse
"Looking for a LS1"

#3

    Firebird Mechanic

  • Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 808 posts

Posted 11 October 2005 - 08:53 AM

i was gonna do that matt, but i didnt know where i could get 25 amps from a keyed source...... i thought about using the lighter cuz that fuse blows at like 30, but i wasnt sure.... u talkin about the PCM fuse in the fusebox?

#4 mytmous

mytmous

    Firebird Tune up Technician

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Matt
  • City:Madison
  • State or Province:AL
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:Drag Racing, Working on Cars, My Wife and Kids
  • Year: 2001
  • Make: Caddy
  • Model: Catera
  • Engine: 3.0L
  • Transmission: auto

Posted 11 October 2005 - 10:44 AM

pcm fuse yes


and as far as the keyed source, use a relay

main + to battery, main - to fan switch
mainkey + to keyed source(fuse size doesn't matter) mainkey - ground

use a 30amp relay.
the keyed power is like 1 amp not very much as it is just the trigger to
key the relay on and feed the power to the fan switch.


does this make sense?
Matt aka Mighty Mouse
"Looking for a LS1"

#5 mytmous

mytmous

    Firebird Tune up Technician

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Matt
  • City:Madison
  • State or Province:AL
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:Drag Racing, Working on Cars, My Wife and Kids
  • Year: 2001
  • Make: Caddy
  • Model: Catera
  • Engine: 3.0L
  • Transmission: auto

Posted 11 October 2005 - 11:23 AM

see picture,

the keyed source only draws a little power to open the relay to let the
battery power go though to the fan switch.

Attached Files


Matt aka Mighty Mouse
"Looking for a LS1"

#6

    Firebird Mechanic

  • Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 808 posts

Posted 12 October 2005 - 06:58 AM

i understand what youre sayin dude :rockon22: Id just need a place to put the relay, and a keyed wire. Its not all that bad when it dies, just a pain in the arse....

Hey do you think its necessary to reprog a PCM after putting in a new TQ convertor?

#7 mytmous

mytmous

    Firebird Tune up Technician

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Matt
  • City:Madison
  • State or Province:AL
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:Drag Racing, Working on Cars, My Wife and Kids
  • Year: 2001
  • Make: Caddy
  • Model: Catera
  • Engine: 3.0L
  • Transmission: auto

Posted 12 October 2005 - 12:19 PM

Don't know I don't have a pcm controlled tranny.


the relays are small, you can stuff them under a console or behind the radio.
just tape them up good, and as far as a keyed wire, you can use the red radio power wire it's keyed, and would work well.
Matt aka Mighty Mouse
"Looking for a LS1"

#8

    Firebird Mechanic

  • Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 808 posts

Posted 13 October 2005 - 08:56 AM

thanks matt, thats not a bad idea

#9 skeetwya

skeetwya

    Firebird Tune up Technician

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 461 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:John
  • City:Moraga - east bay
  • State or Province:CA
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:F-body's, tennis, and girls... im a pretty simple guy
  • Year: 2000
  • Make: WS6 Hardtop
  • Model: 1/198
  • Engine: 350 ls1
  • Transmission: M6

Posted 14 November 2005 - 04:01 PM

back to the matter at hand. Yes, your PCM will reset if you pull the negative battery cable and it will most likley happen when your bat is drained too
had- 95 formula, 96 t/a, 2000 t/a WS6, 76 firebird esprit, 73 formula clone, 71 camaro, 77 corvette, 1999 T/A, 1999 v6 firebird, 1999 FRC (fixed roof coupe/hardtop) formula 1/1660ish

have- 2000 formula ws6 hardtop (I like saying FRC) even though i think fixed roof coupe is a corvette thing heh. 1/198 ls1 hardtop ws6's

#10

    Firebird Oil Changer

  • Validating
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Posted 08 February 2007 - 12:44 PM

I got my pcm tuned(Thunderracing).....I had my fuse blowf or the pcm you think it reset my tuned back to factory?

#11 Injuneer

Injuneer

    Just Trying to Help

  • Administrator
  • 13862 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Fred
  • City:Central NJ
  • State or Province:NJ
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:Licensed Professional Engineer (Mechanical)
  • Year: 1994
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Firebird Formula
  • Engine: 381ci LT1 stroker
  • Transmission: TH400 + GV O/D

Posted 15 February 2007 - 08:16 PM

I got my pcm tuned(Thunderracing).....I had my fuse blow  for the pcm  you think it reset my tuned back to factory?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

No. Pulling the power to the PCM simply clears the volatile memory. That's basically the long term fuel corrections and the learned IAC counts. The "program" for the tuning is in non-volatile memory, and will not be lost if power is removed.

Rather than pull the cable(s) off the battery, find the "PCM BAT" fuse, and pull that for 30 seconds. That is enough to reset the data stored in the volatile memory.

1994 FIREBIRD FORMULA
FRED

 
381ci all-forged stroker (Callies Stealth, Oliver billet rods, BME 2618-T61 nitrous pistons) - 10.8:1 - CNC LT4 heads/intake - Comp Cams solid roller - MoTeC M48 Pro engine management - 8 LS1 coils - 58mm TB - 74#/HR injectors - 300-shot dry nitrous - TH400 - Gear Vendors 0.78:1 O/D - Strange 12-bolt - 4.11 Pro-Street gears - AS&M headers - true duals - Corbeau seat - AutoMeter gauges - roll bar - Spohn suspension - QA1 shocks - a few other odds 'n ends. 800HP / 800lb-ft at the flywheel, on a 300-shot. 11.5 @ 117 MPH straight motor
 
https://www.firebird...9_698_32777.jpg

 


#12 yoheer

yoheer

    Firebird Oil Changer

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Sergey
  • City:Minsk
  • State or Province:Other
  • Country:Belarus
  • Year: 1994
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Trans Am
  • Engine: LT1
  • Transmission: Automatic 4l60e

Posted 23 April 2020 - 06:50 AM

Hi everybody.
I have a bricked ECM from 94 car
It died while uploading .bin file via tuner pro rt.
Now the AN28F512 chips are desoldered. I need to flash them but i cant realize what files I need.
Is it a factory .bin file which was downloaded from ECM earlier? Should I flash both chips with it?
Or I need some specific files?

#13 sea dog

sea dog

    Firebird Master Tech.

  • Administrator
  • 3111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Robert
  • City:Fruitland Park
  • State or Province:FL
  • Country:USA
  • Interests:cars, guitars, women, firearms,
  • Year: 1995
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: transam
  • Engine: 5.7 lt1
  • Transmission: 4l60e

Posted 23 April 2020 - 10:47 AM

If you would go to the gearheadefi forum they have  bin files for the 94 trans am with lt1. Just make sure you download the bin that matches your rear end gear ratio, automatic or manual transmission.  http://www.gearhead-efi.com

 

When you go there, search for 94 firebird bin files.



#14 yoheer

yoheer

    Firebird Oil Changer

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • First Name:Sergey
  • City:Minsk
  • State or Province:Other
  • Country:Belarus
  • Year: 1994
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Trans Am
  • Engine: LT1
  • Transmission: Automatic 4l60e

Posted 26 April 2020 - 01:31 AM

Thanks for the reply




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users