Firebird Nation: Hot wire under dash - Firebird Nation

FirebirdNation.com is the premier Pontiac Firebird forum on the internet. Supporting Members do not see the above ads.
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Hot wire under dash resistance wire getting to hot Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Classic Cars 

• Pontiac Firebird Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Member
  • First Name:Robert
  • City:Newhall
  • State or Province:CA
  • Interests:Classic & Antique cars
  • Year: 1969
  • Make: Pontiac
  • Model: Firebird
  • Engine: 350
  • Transmission: Auto

Posted 19 October 2011 - 07:12 PM

I am new to FBN. I am working on my daughters 69 bird. Engine is a fresh rebuild 350 ci. no miles on the engine. I have a resistance wire under the dash that gets hot when the ignition is in the run position but engine not running. When the engine is running this wire does not get as hot. This wire is the blk pink print according to the factory schematic. In the car the wire is blk with writing that says (resistance do not cut). The wire ties in from the fuse block, with the backup lamp switch, the directional signal flasher then to position E on the ignition switch 6 pin connector. I have disconnected the 2 lamp switches and turned on the ign. to see if the problem goes away. This did not solve the problem. Eventually I had an idea and disconnected the coil from the load wire and the resistance wire does not get hot when ign was turned on. I have solved a lot of electrical issues in my days but this one has me stumped.